I AM … Sophia

i am sophia 2

I AM … Sophia

This painting of Sophia is very close to my heart. I have always run away from sketching or painting faces. I would find every single excuse under the sun not to paint a face. But I guess Sophia was determined to come alive.

When I started this painting, I have to admit not a single feature was appealing or remotely even close to normal. Sophia pushed me to draw faces, to find my style, I started using charcoal to sketch faces, but keeping true to my abstract style. And so I sketched face after face.  I threw 70% into the bin, but the rest 30% came alive. I had a mentor who really showed me the ropes, and he was as determined as Sophia that I get over this insane fear of faces.

I left Sophia’s painting alone for over 4 weeks. When I came back to her, I was a lot more confident in my space. And within 6 hours of working, Sophia was alive.

Across all scriptures, Sophia represents wisdom. To me, Sophia represents triumph over fear.  The step towards leaving behind self imposed creativity shackles and moving towards true inner creative freedom. Now that I look back, I wonder why the hell was I even scared? I guess it’s now time to do a realistic portrait of a person 🙂

Available on my etsy store for purchase.

Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/lkewlani

Instagram: @lkewlani

Leave a Reply

