Art Blog: F1 Racing Abstract Painting (Sold)

image

A friend of mine asked me if I could do a F1 car painting for him. I said yea of course, not realising the madness I was getting myself into.

I love sports, but there are 2 sports I simply don’t follow. F1 and Golf. I have no clue about teams or individuals or how they eventually win world titles. Yes I know Ayrton Senna and Micheal Schumacher because of their biographies and their intelligent personas but not because I watched their races!

Since he is a Ferrari Freak, the colors were pretty much determined. Reds and yellows. I knew the background had to stand out and carry the element of ‘roughness’, vibrancy and unpredictability. If I used a pallette knife or spatula, the strokes are determined … so that method of painting went out of the window.

I ended up using 5 shades of red (deep cadmium, vermillion, scarlett, crimson and flourescent) along with 3 shades of yellow (lemon, flourescent and cadmium) to create the background. I random splashed the colors with water, placed crumpled plastic on it and left it to dry for 2 days. This gave it an incredible unpredictable effect – paint raised in some areas, colours forming weird sexy patterns by blending on their own, paint peeling off in some areas – it was actually really cool!!

image

I

then sketched an abstract F1 car, with the helmet placed in the middle of the canvas, seat and back panels of the car towards the top of the canvas, and the engine curving in the front. Again I used one stroke of paint to keep true to the peeling effect created on the background.

image

The peeling effect reminded me of the speed at which these drivers and cars perform at. In a blink of an eye, they fly past you. You see glimpses of the F1 car, the colours and those little blurs is what you register in your mind. 

Here’s to all the Ferrari fans!

image

Details: Acrylics, 85 cm x 85 cm

Art blog: http://www.lkewlani.com

Instagram: @lkewlani

Leave a Reply

