Art Blog: The Story Behind ‘Healing Hands’

"Love one another and help others to rise to the higher levels, simply by pouring out love. Love is infectious and the greatest healing energy." - Sai Baba
“Love one another and help others to rise to the higher levels, simply by pouring out love. Love is infectious and the greatest healing energy.” – Sai Baba

Early this year,  I somehow hurt the palms of both hands. By May end, the pain was intense. It was hard for me to paint with a brush, I could barely draw a straight line, my signature on receipts was shaky, and I could barely recognize my handwriting.  My hands were at times fisted and it would take a lot of coaxing and massaging them with lavender oil to get them to open.

So I went to a doc and he says ‘arthritis’. Another one gave me a name that I could barely understand.  Both said – ‘get used to the pain. It is permanent.’  Deep down I kept thinking – what utter fricking bull@#$/ !!!

To tell someone who is now a full time artist that she will lose control of her hands … let’s just say I refused to accept their verdict.

So I painted with palette knives on the ‘good days’ of less pain, and my new style of art emerged. 🙂 Then in early August my best friend Sandeep told me about a Chiropractor who might be able to help me, and I thought – what do I have to lose?

And thus I met one of the best doctors ever. I walked in, expecting an old doctor, and I found a 6.2 foot handsome Irish man haha . He listened to me patiently with a smile, heard what the other docs had diagnosed and said – we can’t have an artist with painful hands can we? LOLOL. As soon as he touched my hands,  I knewww that this doc wouldn’t fix me but would heal me.

For 5 weeks, he worked with me. Each session he would evaluate my artistic achievements for that week with pride. And with each session, the pain started reducing. Last week, we agreed that I will use my hands to the maximum. So I painted 2 paintings, sculpted fr 6.5 hours and sketched for 2 days straight. To be able to sketch for hours with no pain – WOW. To celebrate I gifted out all those sketches ☺

Today was my last session and it felt so right to gift my doctor this sketch. It symbolizes hands … his hands that healed mine. The joy in his eyes when I gave him the sketch made me feel so grateful for this doctor who refused to give up on me when I didn’t give up on me. Here’s celebrating Dr Gary Fitzgerald – an incredible healer. Thank You! How does it get better than this? Wohoooo

2 thoughts on “Art Blog: The Story Behind ‘Healing Hands’”

Leave a Reply

