Art Blog: The Story Behind ‘Peacock Mosaic’

"We become not a melting pot, but a beautiful mosaic. Different people, different beliefs, different yearnings, different hopes, different dreams" - Jimmy Carter.
“We become not a melting pot, but a beautiful mosaic. Different people, different beliefs, different yearnings, different hopes, different dreams” – Jimmy Carter.

This was my 1st ever mosaic piece. I have no clue why when I start a new artistic medium, I end up doing something complicated and something that’s huge in size! Must be a Leena thing, because I don’t do this intentionally! LOL

Building this mosaic was tough. I had to spend hours cutting the glass mosaic pieces into 4 pieces. Then I had to cut them into shape to ensure that the peacock feathers and lines were flowing. There were times I had to rip out 4 hours of work and start again. Not easy.

There was a point where every single finger of mine had glass cuts and I had to band aid them (yep – all ten fingers!!). I even had to get a tetanus shot (since no one could remember when was the last time I had one!!). My father could simply not understand why I would continue to create this, as though I was a little kid in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. All he could see was the band aids (can’t blame him!).

But yet, there was something tranquil about cutting the pieces, about shaping them, making them stick and flow with colour and lines. It’s like a jigsaw puzzle where you shape the pieces.It made me think … we are each a little mosaic piece. We are all unique in our colors. When we come together and we flow in harmony, we can truly create something magnificent!

Leave a Reply

