Art Blog: The Story Behind ‘Sea of Roses’

"Faith is raising the sail of our little boat until it is caught up in the soft winds above and picks up speed, not from anything within itself, but from the vast resources of the universe around us." - W. Ralph Ward.

My cousin sis saw a miniature version of this painting somewhere in a cafe in Vancouver and I knew I had to paint it. I am a Scorpion – a water sign. The ocean has always called out to me, lakes have welcomed me home. A lot of people think of the ocean in shades of blue or green, and maybe this is why I was so drawn to paint this painting because the sea was simply a bed of rose petals.

I used industrial brushes to paint the background. I used palette knives to create the effects. For the boat, I used a sandy mineral gel to give it texture.

As I kept painting this, it came to my mind that the painting symbolizes ‘being different’. The fact that the sea is made of rose petals is in itself different. To me, the sea of roses are our unique qualities, what makes us different from everyone else. On it, we rock the boat of faith. And we are surrounded and supported by the universe. We just need to have faith that the universe will take care of us. Even the things that are happening in our lives that look like chaos or we believe are ‘horrendous’, if we just trust that the universe has our back, has our best interest at heart, so we can sail our boat of faith on calm seas of rose petals, embracing and celebrating our uniqueness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

