What sculpture has taught me…

Ganesh Clay Sculpture

Barely 3 weeks ago, I started to learn how to build a sculpture from white clay. The pic you see, that was one of my first little pieces I played around with to get a hang of the clay, how it feels in my hand.  I am currently building a sculpture over 40 cms tall of Ganesha.

Why Ganesha you might ask? Funnily enough, He is my muse. I start new things always keeping Him in my mind and heart.

The sculpture classes have really pushed me out of my comfort zone. When we paint, we only think about what exactly the canvas will show in front of us. Sure, we paint 3D objects, but we are still thinking about, and looking at the front of the canvas.

In sculpture, we are forced to think about all the angles. It is not only what happens in the front of the sculpture, but also the sides, how will the back look and build up, and most importantly, the inside of the sculpture. If the inside is not strong enough, if the sides or the back haven’t been thought out, the sculpture can risk collapsing when fired. You simply cannot ignore any part or angle of the sculpture.

It made me think … we as humans, we pay so much attention on how we come across to other people. The front we put up. How we look. How we dress.What cars we drive. How much money someone has. The color of their hair or eyes. Their shoes. The makeup. Similar to the canvas painting – the front and usually the most visible parts of us.

What we forget is that the real quality is actually all around us and within us. We rarely look at people and see the way their backs hold their posture, the way their neck holds their head so elegantly. We rarely see the whole body, the actual curves, the hidden curves behind the good fitting clothes.  What lies inside of them, the strength within them, the dreams and fears they carry inside, who they really honestly are. What their eyes are trying to show us. What their soul is saying to us.

Sculpture is certainly an incredible journey, one that connects my hands to me. One I don’t see leaving my path soon.

Leave a Reply

