The Tibetan Art of Serenity

The Tibetan Art of Serenity by Christopher Hansard

In the world we live in today, stressful, materialistic, we start to develop a lot of fears. This book deals with 12 types of fear of our everyday mind and of the material world: (1) Fear of being yourself, (2) Fear of other people, (3) Fear of power and control, (4) Fear of love, (5) Fear of loneliness,  (6) Fear of fear itself, (7) Fear of death and dying, (8) Fear of success and failure, (9) Fear of poverty and wealth, (10) Fear of the future and what it will bring, (11) Fear of achievement and self-esteem, (12) Fear of war and illness.

The author works to provide the reader with age-old techniques, exercises, meditations, inspiring stories and case studies to help think about the way we understand fear, what beliefs are blocking us from letting go of the fear, and how to overcome these fears.

This book is very simply written, very easy to understand, and it hits a nerve.  We all know that fear can be inhibiting, and if given a little leash, fear can take control of our day-to-day life. The author uses his deep knowledge of Tibetan teachings, and tries to demonstrate how easy it is to live in peace and serenity.

Rating: 7-8

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s