Love is my religion

“I have been astonished that men could die martyrs for religion – I have shuddered at it. I shudder no more – I could be martyred for my religion – Love is my religion – I could die for that.” – John Keats

The news nowadays is filled with violence … people killing each other, killing little children … and the most dominant news story each day is about people killing in the name of religion. Sad. No religion preaches killing. Every religion says live in love, light and peace.

I believe in the Power of Love. To me – everything revolves around that immense Power. Even hatred is technically an absence of Love. Love is the strongest emotion we feel, and everything we do, we are trying to attain that Power of Love. Love of our parents, love of beloved, love of our children … we all want to be accepted as we are with love. We all want to be treated with love and respect, heard with love. Each one of us has so much love to give … and yet we prevent ourselves from giving that love freely, thinking ‘what if I don’t get love in return? What if I trust the wrong person? What if I am hurt? What if I am rejected?”

Love does make the world go around – literally! An amazing roller-coaster ride that exhilarates our soul, rejuvenates us, makes us want to move mountains, gives us wings to fly, to experience life to the fullest. The Power of Love makes us feel we can achieve the impossible, be whoever we want to be and yet remain true to ourselves. Each and every cell in our body can vibrate and glow with the Power of Love.

Just see a child in love with his mother … they both glow in their love for each other. They accept each other just as they are. The child doesn’t think “oh my mother is overweight, oh she is short, oh she cannot cook to save her life, oh she stammers when she tries to express herself.” All the child sees is this amazing human being who loves him more than her life itself, and would do anything for him. And that’s enough for him to hang onto his mommy. And the mother – she doesn’t see if her child has 6 fingers, crooked toes, was born with a deformity … all she sees is a little perfect human being, a little person who loves her, looks into her eyes with love, holds her finger to walk, clings to her when he is scared. And their Love for each other surpasses all physicality, all emotions. It just envelopes the 2 of them in perfect harmony.

So yes I could happily die and be martyred for Love rather than my faith or my religion or which God I believe in!

“Love is life. All, everything that I understand, I understand only because I love. Everything is, everything exists, only because I love. Everything is united by it alone. Love is God, and to die means that I, a particle of love, shall return to the general and eternal source.”

Leo Tolstoy

“Love is life. And if you miss love, you miss life.”

Leo Buscaglia

Leave a Reply

