Breathe…

I have been staying in a crowded packed noisy metropolitan city for the last few weeks … just as a small breather between going back to my other concrete city to school, work and finally teaching.  Initially I was enjoying it, but the more I stay, the more I realize how much I miss open spaces, how much I miss waking up and not seeing nature. Not that my city back home had much ‘natural’ nature either! Trees all planted at equal distances, same size, same shape, manicured gardens … so fake that it drives me mad. Oh – let’s not forget the pollution.  And of course, in a busy city, no one even smiles back! No one has the time to even think and appreciate anything around them. In a city which is so buzzing, we forget the simple pleasures of enjoying nature. We live in the concrete jungle – which to a certain extent is necessary because after all – we have a living to make. I understand that. I have to do it too.

But I love waking up to the sunlight. I love walking and being able to see mountains, able to see fields of gold, with every step breathing in the crisp clean air. I love walking in the rain, basking in the simple pleasure of getting wet. I love sitting on a porch or near a window and seeing lightning light up the skies, with all possible different colors. The magical rainbows that appear after the storm. I love sitting in a park, with my feet dipped in the stream.

Of course in a real world that’s simply not possible to do everyday … but what I have been doing is simply looking up to the skies, breathing in the love of life, and just thanking the person up there for all the blessings in my life!

“To one who has been long in city pent,
‘Tis very sweet to look into the fair
And open face of heaven, – to breathe a prayer
Full in the smile of the blue firmament.”

~John Keats, Sonnet XIV

2 thoughts on “Breathe…”

  1. Just desire to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your post is just nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

